Falls City Mayor and Council members sworn in

(KLZA)-- Mark Harkendorff was sworn in as Mayor of Falls City Monday night during the City Council meeting.

Harkendorff was elected in November, unseating incumbent Shawna Bindle who served one-term as Mayor.

In addition, Shawn Fouraker was sworn in as Third Ward Council member replacing Mitch Merz who did not seek reelection.

Incumbents who won reelection were also sworn in, Don Ferguson in Ward 1, Joe Buckminster in Ward 2 and Derek Leyden in Ward 4. Leyden was elected President of the Council for 2022 with Buckminster elected Acting President of the Council.

The Council confirmed Mayor Harkendorff's appointments of Anthony Nussbaum as City Administrator / Clerk / Treasurer. Jameson Baker as Chief of Police; Blake Buckminster as Building Inspector; Michael Dunn as City Attorney and Tracy Burns as Deputy City Attorney.

The Council also confirmed the recommendation of the Falls City Volunteer Fire Department to appoint Matt Beer as Fire Chief, Jon McQueen as First Assistant Fire Chief and Devin Moore as Second Assistant Fire Chief.

Many Signals Communications